跳至内容 致电03 9880 7000
妈妈和两个孩子坐在公园里。两个孩子都患有脑瘫,坐在她的膝盖上。

感言"当家庭与我交谈时,他们知道他们是在与一个经历过这些的人交谈。

真希望我早知道...

2022 年 10 月 6 日

作为一名护士和母亲,我很快就了解到,我既有医学直觉,也有母亲的直觉。

大家好,我叫艾米,是三个男孩的妈妈。我的双胞胎泽维尔(Xavier)和亚历克斯(Alex)今年六岁,他们患有脑瘫。我的大儿子艾略特今年九岁。

我是一名心理健康护士,所以当我的双胞胎儿子接受新生儿护理时,我很幸运,因为我知道这个系统是如何运作的,我推动参与了他们护理的方方面面。

孩子还小的时候,有时很难联系到合适的医疗和专职医疗服务。我对这个系统的了解让我能够确保在孩子们出院后,以及在他们18个月大时的诊断过程中,我们都能得到正确的支持。从那时起,我们加入了 NDIS,并开始获得资助支持。

现在,我在大脑性麻痹支持网络(CPSN)担任远程保健护士,并将我作为大脑性麻痹患儿家长的经验融入到我的工作中。当家庭与我交谈时,他们知道他们是在与亲历者交谈。我将人们与相关的支持和资源联系起来,有时我甚至希望自己几年前刚接触这个系统时就知道有这些资源。

起初,我们需要做大量的研究,才能找到我们需要的支持。我在工作中经常看到这样的情况:家庭被扔到社区里,只得到 "找一个职业治疗师 "这样简单的指示,这可能有点棘手。现在,我对那些正在办理 NDIS 的家长们说,请询问他们是否可以有一名支持协调员。我们从来没有得到过这样的服务。直到为时已晚,我才知道他们的存在!

我对我的孩子们现在的状况非常满意,我很自豪地说,他们俩也非常开心。我们在幼儿园度过了一段奇妙的旅程--即使是在 COVID 期间--他们接纳了我们的孩子,也接纳了我们希望他们拥有的那种经历。

双胞胎现在上预科班,他们非常喜欢在学校的生活。我们通过协商,安排他们每周在主流学校上三天课,在特殊学校上两天课。我的孩子不会说话,因此专门学校为他们提供了额外的沟通支持。两所学校之间的联系非常紧密。我觉得我们非常幸运,能有灵活、开放地满足我们孩子需要的人与我们一起工作。   

像 ACD 和 CPSN 这样的组织正在为有残疾儿童的家庭做着重要的工作。现有的信息可以帮助人们创造他们想要的生活,并为他们的孩子争取所需的支持。我在 CPSN 工作时,会花时间与一些家庭通电话,即使我只是给他们一点精神支持,或就如何使用 NDIS 提供建议,我也是在帮助他们度过难关。

CPSN 远程保健服务通过电话为脑瘫患者提供从童年到成年的信息。

阅读更多真实故事

Skip to content Call 03 9880 7000
Mum is sitting with her two children at the park. Both have cerebral palsy and are sitting on her knee.

Testimonial: "When families speak to me, they know that they are speaking to someone who has been through it.'

I wish I’d known…

6 October 2022

As a nurse and a mother, I learned quickly that I had both medical intuition and mother’s intuition.

Hi, I’m Amy, and I’m the mum of three boys. My twins, Xavier and Alex, are six and they have cerebral palsy. My older son, Elliot, is nine.

I’m a mental health nurse, so when my twin boys were in neo-natal care, I was lucky because I knew how the system worked, and I pushed to be involved in every aspect of their care.

Sometimes it’s a struggle to connect with the right medical and allied health services when your child is young. My understanding of the system allowed me to make sure we had the right supports after the boys were discharged from hospital, and all the way through to diagnosis when they were 18 months old. From there, we joined the NDIS and started getting funded support.

Now I work as a telehealth nurse at the Cerebral Palsy Support Network (CPSN) and I get to bring my experience as a parent of children with cerebral palsy into my role. When families speak to me, they know that they are speaking to someone who has been through it. I link people to relevant support and resources, sometimes even to resources that I wish I’d known were available when I was first navigating the system a few years ago.

Initially, we had to do a lot of research to find the supports we needed. I see it in my work all the time: families are thrown out into the community with simple instructions like “Find an OT” and that can be a bit tricky. I now say to parents who are going through the NDIS process to ask if they can have a support coordinator. We were never offered that. I didn’t even know they existed until it was too late!

I’m really happy with where my boys are at now, and I’m so proud to say that they’re both really happy too. We had a fantastic journey through kinder – even during COVID – they embraced our boys and the kind of experience we wanted for them.

The twins are in Prep now and they are loving their experience at school. We’ve been able to negotiate an arrangement where they spend three days per week in a mainstream school and two days per week in a specialist school. My boys are non-verbal, so the specialist school offers them extra support with communication. There’s strong liaison between the two schools. I feel that we’ve been incredibly lucky to have people working with us who are flexible and open to what our boys need.   

Organisations like ACD and CPSN are doing vital work for families who have children with disability. The information that is available can help people create the life they want and advocate for the support that their children need. In my role at CPSN, I spend time on the phone with families and, even if I’m just giving a little bit of moral support, or advice about how to navigate the NDIS, I’m helping them at that point in their journey.

CPSN telehealth service provides over the phone information to people with cerebral palsy throughout childhood and into adulthood.

Read more Real stories