跳至内容 致电03 9880 7000
残疾女孩和母亲相视而笑

青春期与残疾:开始旅程

2024 年 5 月 22 日

对许多父母来说,学龄前和青少年时期以及青春期的开始都是焦虑的时期。如果您的孩子有残疾,可能会面临更多的挑战,您可能不知道该从何入手,以及如何让自己和孩子为未来做好最好的准备。

重要的是要记住,无论残疾与否,学龄前和青少年儿童都会经历不同的身体和情绪变化。对每个人来说,这是一段独特的旅程。残疾儿童和所有儿童一样,需要了解自己身体的变化以及如何应对这些变化。重要的是,要将青春期视为成长过程中正常的一部分。

在您的孩子了解自己不断变化的身体的同时,讨论感情、性健康、网络安全和同意也变得越来越重要。这不是一次性的对话,而是您需要定期与孩子讨论的话题。

有一些很好的在线资源可以帮助您度过孩子成长的这个阶段。其中包括视频、书籍和简易英语信息,供您与孩子分享,并帮助您设定适合孩子的基调和节奏。

我们为您准备了一份我们最喜欢的资源清单,让您开始您的旅程:

有用资源

此外,请查看 ACD 的免费指南《 支持您 孩子做出决定 》和《您的青少年》以及《医疗保险和 Centrelink》。

阅读更多新闻

Skip to content Call
A girl with disability and her mother smiling together

Puberty and disability: start the journey

22 May 2024

The pre-and teen years and the onset of puberty are anxious times for many parents. If your child has a disability, there can be added challenges and you may be wondering where to start and how best to prepare yourself and your child for what’s ahead.

It’s important to remember that regardless of disability, pre- and teen-aged children all go through physical and emotional changes differently. It’s a unique journey for each individual. Children with disability, like all children, need to understand their body changes and how to manage them. It’s important to treat puberty as a normal part of growing up.

While your child learns about their changing body, discussing feelings, sexual health, online safety, and consent is increasingly important. It’s not a one-off conversation, but something you need to regularly talk about with your child.

There are some great online resources to help you navigate this stage of your child’s development. They include videos, books, and information in easy English to share with your child and to help you set the tone and pace that suits them.

We’ve put together a list of our favourite resources to start you on your journey:

Useful resources

Also, check out ACD’s free guides Supporting your child with decision making and Your teenager and Medicare and Centrelink

Read more News